COMMERCIAL LOANS

COMMERCIAL LOANS

Commercial Loans | Commercial Mortgage Loans Commercial mortgage

 
 
 
 
 
 
 


A commercial mortgage loan is a loan made using commercial property to secure the commercial loan until the commercial mortgage is paid off.

A commercial mortgage is similar to a residential mortgage loan, except the collateral is a commercial property or other commercial real estate, not residential property. In addition, commercial mortgage loans are typically taken on by businesses instead of individual borrowers. The borrower may be a partnership, incorporated business, or limited company, so assessment of the creditworthiness of the business can be more complicated than is the case with residential mortgages.

Some commercial mortgages are nonrecourse, that is, that in the event of default in repayment, the creditor can only seize the collateral, but has no further claim against the borrower for any remaining deficiency. The general reason for this is many laws significantly prevent the creditor from going after the borrower for any deficiency, and commercial mortgages structured for sale as bonds give a higher priority to constantly receiving some sort of income and therefore require a clause which allows the commercial lender to take the commercial property immediately, regardless of bankruptcy proceedings that the borrower might be going through.

Frequently, the mortgage is supplemented by a general obligation of the borrower or a personal guarantee from the owner(s), which makes the debt payable in full even if foreclosure on the mortgaged collateral does not satisfy the outstanding balance.

Commercial Loan Terms of a commercial mortgage

The majority of Commercial Mortgages in the United States, while requiring the borrower to simply make a monthly payment small enough to pay off the loan over a 5 to 30 year time frame, require a balloon payment (a total payoff) after a lesser time frame. The borrower most likely will attempt at that time to refinance the loan or sell the property. Thus there are two elements generally to the term of a commercial mortgage loan: the length of time allowed until balloon payment (known simply as the term), and the amortization. The length of the loan can vary from a matter of days to 30 years. If a loan had a 30 year amortization schedule, but a 10 year term it would commonly be referred to as a 10 year balloon with a 30 year payment schedule.

 

We are a secondary market lender specializing in owner occupied and partially owner occupied commercial real estate loans from $250,000 to $200,000,000.

We offer the following commercial mortgage types:

We also partner with life insurance companies to provide loans on investment properties for loan amounts from $3,000,000 to $35,000,000.

Here is why you should work with us on your commercial loans:

Speed—You can expect a term sheet in 24 hours and a loan commitment within one week of submission of a complete loan package.

Flexible Third Party Guidelines—In most cases we will accept recommendations from you on an appraiser you want us to use. We may use them if they meet our guidelines.

Low Fixed Rate Commercial Loans — We offer some of the most aggressive wholesale rates in the industry.

Direct commercial mortgage lender. We offer first and second trust commercial loans from $250,000 to $200,000,000. We are the highest Yield Spread Premium paying A&B paper commercial mortgage lender in the country.

We offer six different commercial loan products:

  1. Full Document Commercial Loans - 85% is the maximum we will lend; this is made up of a 75% first trust commercial loan and up to a 10% second trust commercial loan. Our minimum credit score is 660 however we do not allow any prior history of BK on our Full Document commercial loan product. Loan amounts from $250,000 to $200,000,000
  2. Stated Income Commercial Loans – 80% is the maximum we will lend; we do not offer second trusts on this product. Our minimum credit score is 620 and no BK in the past 5 years is allowed.
  3. Commercial Bridge Loans – 75% is the maximum we lend; second trusts are permitted but we do not offer them. There are no minimum credit score requirements. The commercial bridge loan is offered from $1mm to $15mm in most metropolitan areas. General purpose commercial properties are allowed with a special interest in income producing properties.
  4. SBA 504 Commercial Loans – 90% is the maximum combined loan to value between our commercial loan and the SBA debenture. No minimum set credit score. Loan amounts from $500,000 to $7,500,000.
  5. B&I Commercial Loans – 90% is the maximum we will lend. No minimum set credit score. Loan amounts from $1mm to $25,000,000.
  6. Non Profit Loans – 80% first trust commercial loans and up to 100% CLTV with a second trust.

Commercial loans and commercial mortgage rates

Applications of commercial mortgage loans

Common applications of commercial mortgage loans include acquiring land or commercial properties, expanding existing facilities or refinancing existing debt. Common commercial properties are zoned for office, retail, & industrial purposes.

Commercial premises are purchased for many reasons. One may require bigger premises to cope with expansion, or you may be buying property, whereby the property is directly linked to a business e.g. a hotel. Commercial Mortgages are usually made with terms less than 10 years, but may be much longer than this. The Commercial Property itself is usually at risk if payments are not made on time.

Commercial Mortgage Loans are often used for a variety of Commercial business purposes::

Commercial Lenders Criteria

Most commercial lenders and building societies offer commercial mortgages, but you must satisfy the lenders' criteria for qualification. The primary criterion is the debt service coverage ratio or the ratio of cash available to the required loan payments. Some lenders may accept applications where there is an adverse credit history, but most require a positive personal credit rating and clear evidence that your business is creditworthy. Most will apply a loan-to-value ratio and will expect you to invest a proportion of your own money into the purchase.

The lender's decision will also depend on your current business circumstances - a commercial lender will expect your bbusiness to be stable and profitable. They may ask to see your business plan and long-term financial projections, to assure themselves that your business has, and will continue to have, the ability to make repayments on the loan. Some lenders impose restrictions on the uses of commercial premises and certain business concerns may be excluded altogether. The terms of a commercial mortgage will depend largely on the type of business you're running and the type of premises or land you want to buy. This is a complex area and it's essential that you seek specialist advice from your solicitor and probably a chartered surveyor.

Commercial Loan Underwriting

Commercial Mortgage loans are almost always designed to be underwritten based entirely on the attributes of the commercial property being mortgaged, as opposed to the credit attributes of the borrower. To facilitate this, many times commercial lenders require the commercial property to be owned by a single asset entity such as a corporation or an LLC created specifically to own just the subject property. This allows the commercial lender to foreclose on the property in the event of default even if the borrower went into bankruptcy (the entity is known as "bankruptcy remote"). In a normal residential mortgage, a lender would have a difficult time selling a property if the bankruptcy court case is still pending.

Commercial Lenders usually also require a minimum debt to income ration which typically ranges from 25% to 65% the ratio is net cash flow (the income the property produces) over the debt service (mortgage payment). As an example if the owner of a shopping mall receives $300,000 per month from tenants, pays $50,000 per month in expenses, a lender will typically not give a loan that requires monthly payments above $227,273 (($300,000-$50,000)/

Lenders also look at Loan to Value (LTV). LTV is a mathematical calculation which expresses the amount of a mortgage as a percentage of the total appraised value. For instance, if a borrower wants $6,000,000 to purchase an office worth $10,000,000, the LTV ratio is $6,000,000/$10,000,000 or 60%. Commercial mortgage loans LTV's are typically between 55% and 80%, unlike residential mortgages which are typically 90% or above.

Commercial Loan Interest rates

Interest rates for commercial mortgages are normally higher than those for residential mortgages.

The most common commercial mortgage is a fixed-rate loan, where the interest rate remains constant throughout the term. This must not be confused with the typical residential loan which uses the term to denote a 30 year term mortgage that comes with a rate fixed for 30 years. Most commercial loans have fixed periods between 3 and 10 years. The biggest for this is the source of funds. Many banks borrow their money to lend from the Federal Government with a wholesale cost and repackage the money for retail lending. Since the Fed Rate can change every 3 months or so, banks typically do not want to run the risk of their funds costs exceeding the income derived from interest through a loan made to consumer. These loans are typically based on the yields of treasuries, swaps, corporate bonds, or fixed commercial loan rates. Commercial Loans can also be variable or capped. These rates are usually based on an index such as LIBOR.

A second commercial mortgage is an additional loan on a commercial property secured behind that of the first mortgage. The second mortgage is subordinated to the first mortgage and therefore carries a higher interest rate due to the higher risk of not being able to recover all losses should the loan default.

Commercial Agency mortgages

In residential lending in the United States, the market evolved from one where banks extended loans to borrowers, to one where banks extended loans but those loans were securitized and sold off as bonds. The government sponsored enterprises Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were created to assist banks in doing this, by stamping the bonds with a guarantee of timely payment, even if the homeowner was late on their payment.

However if the commercial mortgage market for apartment buildings of 5 or more units, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac do even more than this. Essentially they lend their own money and then securitize the bonds themselves, leaving banks to handle the servicing (ie. billing etc.) of the loan. They have come to dominate the market for apartment lending .  As of December 17, 2007 GSE's were reported to hold 34% of total debt outstanding for multifamily property. Given the recent liquidity crisis due to the sub prime crash of 2007 & 2008, these numbers are reported to be even higher by the Mortgage Bankers Association.

The financial institutions who work to obtain the loans for Freddie Mac or Fannie Mae are then primarily agents, and for this reason this area of lending is known as Agency Lending.

Commercial Loan Second-layer lenders

A group called second-layer lenders became an important force in the residential mortgage market in the latter half of the 1960s. These federal credit agencies, which include the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corp., the Federal National Mortgage Association, and the Government National Mortgage Association, conduct secondary market activities in the buying and selling of loans and provide credit to primary lenders in the form of borrowed money. They do not have direct contact with the individual consumer.

Conduit mortgages

In the early 1980s, Investment Banks such as Salomon Brothers worked with banks and the government sponsored entities Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac to develop ways for banks to be able to sell their home mortgage loans as bonds into the bond market. By doing this, banks would free up funds to continue to make more loans, as well as earn fees upon the sale of the loans while leaving little or no of their own money at risk. However, similar developments in commercial mortgages were slow in appearing. The first movement in this area came with the savings and loan failures: the government set up a company known as the "resolution trust company" which would buy commercial mortgages from failed savings and loans and then turn them into bonds. In the early to mid nineties this led the staff of the Japanese Investment Bank Nomura in San Francisco to develop programs to convert commercial mortgages into bonds, primarily by making new commercial mortgage loans with clauses and structures which make them more like what bond investors want to invest in. The main thing that bond investors did not like about mortgages is that the borrow could repay the loan at any time (which was usually done when interest rates went lower, causing the bond investor to lose out on their high rate bond and having then to reinvest in new low rate bonds). While the government did not like restrictions on prepayment penalties being required of regular home owners, Nomura and other investment banks began to structure commercial mortgages that absolutely forbid prepayment penalties, in exchange for dramatically lower interest rates (and also allowing new buyers of the property to take over the existing loans). The loans that were especially designed to be turned into bonds became known as "conduit loans". Because of the rule against prepayment, for a borrower to prepay a conduit loan, the borrower will have to buy enough government bonds (treasuries) to provide the investors with the same amount of income as they would have had if the loan was still in place. This is known as a defeasance. When a property defenses, the bond it is in will increase in value since the higher risk real estate collateral is being replaced with lower risk US treasuries.

Conduit loans have been part of a trend in the Investment Banking industry to become more "vertically integrated". That is, instead of helping banks and other lenders to provide fix rate products and replenish funds by selling off loans as bonds, investment banks have taken to making the loans themselves, and then selling the bonds themselves. In fact, many times the Investment Banks make little or no money on the loan itself, and only make money by the selling and trading of bonds. For this reason, these forms of loans are usually at a better interest rate than is possible through other forms of Bank lending.

Like most residential mortgage loans that are sold as bonds to bond investors, investment banks usually create multiple classes (known as 'tranches') of bonds based on the same pool of mortgages. The tranches might be ranked so that the 1st class takes all of the losses on the mortgage loans up to a certain point in exchange for having a higher interest rate paid to them. The second class may only take losses when the losses reach a certain point for the first class of bondholders, in exchange for a lower interest rate. In this way one set of mortgages could be used to create bonds that appeal to a wide range on investors.

With the subprime mortgage crisis, investors have stopped buying the majority of classes of commercial mortgage backed securities, and therefore, most conduit loans are no longer available at good interest rates. This is due to a few factors: while there is concern that the residential mortgage crisis will have an adverse effect on commercial real estate, the biggest issue is that both subprime mortgage bonds as well as commercial mortgage bonds have been arguably constructed incorrectly, with the investment banks underestimating the losses that might occur for each tranche and under compensating the tranches as a result (and also under pricing the original loan). It is not clear at this time whether new commercial mortgage backed securities will again begin to be issued in an orderly fashion, and if so whether the tranche system might be changed fundamentally. However this is an issue for the commercial real estate market in general as other lender (banks, Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac, life insurance companies) will be able to make up for the lost conduit loan availability.

National Commercial Mortgage Lender and Apartment Lender

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Commercial Loans is an independent, licensed commercial mortgage lender and apartment lender originating small and mid-balance multifamily loan and commercial loan debt for its own portfolio.

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With a core focus on commercial mortgage loans under $25 million, a diverse product mix, an innovative online commercial lending platform, and a staff of seasoned, experienced professionals, Commercial Loans provides a low cost, single source solution for apartment loans and commercial property loans from $250,000 to $200 million.

 
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Offering its own product line and a correspondent of both commercial loans. Commercial Loans provides highly targeted apartment financing solutions to meet its borrowers individual needs and investment objectives. 30 year fixed-rate programs available.

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In addition, Commercial Loans Multifamily Lending Group provides multifamily loans for the acquisition or refinancing of multifamily housing communities properties.

 
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Commercial Loans provides commercial mortgage loans for both owner-occupied and investor properties. With commercial loans from both bank and non-bank assets, Commercial Loans is able to offer flexible commercial financing with low fixed-rates, 30 year terms, higher LTVs and quick closings.
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Commercial Loans provide the lowest permanent fixed-rate commercial real estate loans for the acquisition or refinance of stabilized properties including: hotel, industrial, mobile home park, multifamily, office, retail and self storage.

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Small Balance Apartment Loans

Loan Sizes $500,000 - $5 Million Highly competitive apartment loans for multifamily properties with 5 or more individual units, including mixed-use commercial and mobile home parks, through a low cost, streamlined and simplified loan process. Low closing costs, up to 85% LTV, limited impounds, no lender points. Programs available for A, B and C property types.

BRK

Large Balance Apartment Loans

Loan Sizes $5 Million and UpInnovative and customized apartment financing for conventional market-rate apartment properties. Options include: fixed terms from 5-30 years, early rate lock to 365 days, tired risk-based pricing, flexible prepayment options, cash or MBS execution, balloon or no balloon terms...
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Stated Income Apartment Loans

Loan Sizes $250,000 - $25 Million Stated income and low doc apartment loan program does not require personal or business tax returns, personal financial statements, or monthly/annual reporting. Up to 30 year terms available.
 

HUD FHA 223(f) Apartment and Multifamily Program

Section 223(f) FHA apartment loans are available for the acquisition or refinancing of multifamily properties. Up to 85% LTV and 40 year fixed rate terms available.